Marvin Quinlan – President 

A fifth generation Montanan who manages the family ranch in Forsyth, MT, Marvin is a cattle rancher, attorney, business consultant, community advocate, servant leader and catalyst for change. He is actively engaged in diverse issues ranging from early childhood education, affordable housing and elder care, to state-wide community building and international agriculture. He currently serves as principal founding Board Member of the Community Foundation of Northern Rosebud County, Board Vice President and Board Development Director of One Health Community Health Center Network, Board Chair of Rosebud County Council on Aging, Board Member of Rosebud County Planning Board, Congregation President for Concordia Lutheran Church, and Board Member of Forsyth Friends of Shakespeare. He volunteers at Montana Rescue Mission and Magic City Blues Festival and writes for local, regional and national publications. Marvin graduated with a B.S. in Agricultural Education from MSU Bozeman where he also did graduate work in Agricultural Education and Public Administration. In addition, he holds a Juris Doctorate in Law from Seattle University.

Julie DalSoglio – Vice President

Julie DalSoglio finished a 30 year career with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in 2017 working primarily on Superfund clean-ups of mining wastes and water quality protection. In her work as a government official, she believed strongly in citizen input and community development. Julie has also volunteered through the years with a number of organizations including the Montana Public Interest Group, Montana Environmental Information Center, No Bottom Line, Helena Area Habitat for Humanity, and UCC Plymouth Congregational Church. Julie is currently serving a second stint on the board for Big Sky Institute, helping out with the Finance Committee and Helena Celebrates Community Philanthropy. Julie graduated from Montana State University with a Masters in Public Administration and has been married to her high-school sweetheart for 42 years. She has one daughter, Lisa, who is married and living with her husband Arik in Havre, Montana. Julie has a B.A. in Political Science from Montana State University (MSU) in Bozeman.

Michael Schechtman – Secretary-Treasurer

In January of 2001, Mike became the Big Sky Institute’s full–time executive director. Prior to accepting this position, Mike was the president and owner of Eaglecliff Associates, a Helena–based consulting firm specializing in organizational development and fundraising for nonprofit organizations. Mike has over 48 years of professional experience in nonprofit program development, administration and fundraising, including 37 years as a consultant to nonprofits in the Northern Rockies. Mike has a B.A. in Psychology from the University of Chicago and an M.S. in Natural Resources from the University of Michigan.

Lauren Murray – Board Member

Lauren Murray is the Director of Development for the Continental Divide Trail Coalition (CDTC), a national nonprofit working to complete, promote, and protect the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail. Starting with CDTC in 2018 as the first Development staff member, she built the fundraising programs and strategies that have helped the organization nearly double its annual budget in under 4 years, and move from five full-time staff to 13. She also brings over five years of marketing and communications experience to BSI’s Board, having worked for several large media companies, and she has experience working in the Federal Government as a former employee of Yosemite National Park. Lauren has served on the Board of Directors for Second Chance Community Garden in Longmont, Colorado, and currently volunteers as a coach for local Helena nonprofit Girls Thrive. You can find her outside of work mountain biking with her husband, Robert, of 8 years, gardening, or spending time with her two Rottweilers, Diezel and Rambler. Lauren has a B.A. in Environmental History and Political Science from Colorado State University.

Former Board Members

Heidi Goettel, Helena, MT
2018 – 2020

Matt Dale (dec.), Helena, MT
2017 – 2018

Mary Hernandez, Billings, MT
2014 – 2016

Bill Milton, Roundup, MT
2008 – 2016

Mark Kelley, Helena, MT
2003 – 2004, 2013-2015

Rod Kopp, Great Falls, MT
2010 -2014

Kelly Rosenleaf, Missoula, MT
2011 – 2013

Hal Fossum, Helena, MT
2006 – 2013

Dick Rule (dec.), Butte, MT
2003 – 2013

Laurie Dagel, Helena, MT

Julie DalSoglio, Helena, MT
2004 – 2011

Denis Prager, Clyde Park, MT
2008 – 2010

Al Rollo, Great Falls, MT
2005 – 2010

Mary Duede, Townsend, MT
2008 – 2009

Joan Hendricks, Billings, MT
2008 – 2009

Mary Peterson, Bozeman, MT
2008 – 2009

Steve Nelsen, Helena, MT
2003 – 2009

Curt Larsen, Helena, MT

Josh Turner, Helena, MT
1999 – 2005

William B. Pratt, Helena, MT
1999 – 2005

Maureen Garrity (dec.), Helena, MT
2003 – 2004

Sheila Rice, Great Falls, MT
2003 – 2004

Thomas Berg (dec.), Minneapolis, MN 
1999 – 2004

Susan Talbot, Missoula, MT
2002 – 2003

Nancy Ellery, Helena, MT and Jensen Beach, FL
1999 – 2003

Jim Crowfoot, Ann Arbor, MI
1999 – 2001